Skip to content

The View from the Cheap Seats

April 15, 2009
Chris Garlasco, Owner & Managing Partner - Founders Insurance Group

Chris Garlasco, Owner & Managing Partner - Founders Insurance Group

My wife and I celebrated one of those milestone wedding anniversaries this past year. Being a well trained husband, I think that every anniversary is special, but clearly the tenth, the twentieth, the thirtieth year and so on, are extra special. I am sure that many of the wives out there would agree. I thought that since this was one of those milestone years, it was important that the dinner, the movie, the card and the gift should be a reflection of everything that our love and hard work had built together.

Being an insurance nerd, I then thought that I would apply the sales psychology that some insurance companies have been peddling to the public. Since many people have unknowingly bought into this psychology, I felt sure that it would work for me in recognizing this important milestone.

Upon arriving home from the office, I announced with excitement in my voice that I was going to treat my bride to a shrimp dinner and an evening on the town to celebrate! She was so excited. You should have seen the look of surprise on her face as I ordered her shrimp dinner, complete with all the fixings’…. at the drive through window! I took the look of surprise in her face as sheer joy. After I pulled the car over so we could eat, I pulled out the card. It was one of those really funny ones, you know, the one with the silly old lady on the front and a real zinger punch line on the inside! I couldn’t believe it was only ninety nine cents! I could tell by the look on her face that I was on a roll now! Although her mouth was wide open, I didn’t even wait for her to say anything. I went in for the big surprise, the little box I had hidden under the seat. Still with that stunned look on her face she pulled the wrapping paper off to reveal a gold ring! I thought it was extra special because all she had to do was squeeze it to make it fit to her finger size! I think that she was so overwhelmed with emotion that she suggested that I go to the movie alone. Luckily for me, I made to the theater before the evening prices took effect!

The message in this story is this: Insurance is like any other product, the performance varies greatly from company to company. Some insurance companies have convinced you, the buying public, that price is all that matters. Don’t believe it!

As always, thank you for spending some of your valuable time with me! Your humble risk manager,

Chris Garlasco

PS: I was only kidding about the ring, it fit on her finger without squeezing it together.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 18, 2009 3:54 pm

    This blog’s great!! Thanks :).

Leave a Reply

