Skip to content

“I’m your trusted advisor”

April 23, 2009

 

Cindy Donaldson, Marketing Director - Founders Insurance Group

Cindy Donaldson, Marketing Director - Founders Insurance Group

I’m a firm believer that people buy from people they like and people they trust. Yesterday I sat in on a meeting with Ed Schultek of the Sandler Training Institute. Sandler’s sales philosophy: Become a trusted advisor and not a vendor and you will succeed. I was taught to sell that way. I listened to my customer’s or prospect’s problems and let them talk. I then solved their problems – I didn’t pitch my services. It worked.

Now I’m in the insurance world – a world that is service based not sales based. Insurance people are like engineers: Just the facts ma’am type people. Insurance producers, like engineers, enjoy listing facts, features, and benefits – after all isn’t that what the customer wants to hear? Ed, my trusted advisor in the sales world, says NO! The majority of customers a.k.a. buyers today want to be nurtured, they want their problems solved, they want to be able to trust the seller LONG before they will even consider buying – they don’t want the facts up front.

The insurance world is changing because the buyer is changing. According to Ed, my trusted advisor, selling is 80% about human emotion – 20% facts. I concur.

My fellow insurance people: I’m sorry to tell you it’s not “Just the facts ma’am” any more. Time to listen!

Cindy Donaldson

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

