Skip to content

You’re a Director of Marketing for who?

April 28, 2009
Cindy Donaldson, Marketing Director - Founders Insurance Group

Cindy Donaldson, Marketing Director - Founders Insurance Group

As many of you know by now, I’m new to the insurance world. I’m a creative person, not a numbers person. My children also tell me I have a case of ADD – I just tell them I’m a very talented multi-tasker. You have to be when you own a company, have two children and tons of projects going on at once. So here I am, at my new job (going on week 6 or 7), trying to bring fun and creativity to what most people consider a really really boring industry: Insurance.

First off – I’m finding it far from boring. Sure, I’m learning new stuff – but it’s more than that. Not many small to midsize independent insurance agencies have a Director of Marketing –so I’m paving the way so to speak. I have four bosses – and truth be told I think they were a little afraid to bring me on board at first. I tend to be a tad pushy, independent and I don’t take no for an answer all that easily. They knew if they hired me I was going to make them step outside their insurance comfort zone. To their credit, they knew the industry was changing. They knew buying habits were changing. They also knew that bringing an outsider to the inner circle would make them stand out from the rest – but it was a gamble. I am Cindy – a non insurance marketing guru who doesn’t own a suit – let alone a Brooks Brothers grey one. Would I fit in? Could I be managed? Could I learn the industry?

It was a hard adjustment at first working for the “man” again – but I think I’m fitting in just fine. Have I a pushed them outside their comfort zones? You bet! My bosses have gone from “What’s a blog” to being first rate bloggers. They’ve opened up to new ideas like Twitter, Facebook and email marketing. I thrive on being outside the comfort zone, and I’m bringing the team along with me!

My goal? Increased market share, increased brand awareness, increased sales and a long career with Founders Insurance Group.

Stay tuned – I’ll keep you posted on my successes!

Cindy Donaldson – Insurance newbie.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 28, 2009 11:55 am

    Hi Cindy,

    I was thrilled to read your post. I too, am a “non insurance marketing guru” that is the Marketing Director for a private insurance company based in Florida. I’ll subscribe to this blog feed and keep tabs as you progress. I’d love to share ideas with you! Thanks for the post!

    • April 28, 2009 11:58 am

      Hi Marissa – Thanks for following! Maybe we will find “more of us” out there! Take care, Cindy

    • October 22, 2009 1:14 pm

      That would be great! I’ve been in the marketing field for almost 15 years now and have just started in the insurance industry a year ago. It’s been great and exciting. The company I work for is a provider of homeowners insurance in Florida only. Agencies throughout Florida provide our products to the Florida market. I really feel Cindy has done a fabulous job with the blog and twitter. We are also using social networks to communicate to agents and consumers. We currently have a Facebook Page and update it regularly.

      I feel a network could help us all to be better professionals and to gain the insight of other’s point of view. Take care!

  2. April 30, 2009 2:11 pm

    Hi, Amazing! Not clear for me, how offen you update your foundersgrp.wordpress.com.
    Have a nice day

  3. May 1, 2009 11:30 am

    Hi Charlie – we try to update it a couple times per week at this point. As we get more authors we are hoping to update daily.
    Thanks for following!
    Cindy

  4. October 22, 2009 11:44 am

    Where have you been the last 18 months. I too am a non-insurance director of marketing for a private independent insurance agency in Florida. We recently tiptoed into Facebook and Twitter and looking at blogging. Hope you don’t mind if I RT you occasionally!

    I think we need an online networking group connecting the likes of us!

    • October 22, 2009 1:15 pm

      I replied to the wrong post. See my message above for April 28 post was meant for this reply. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

