Skip to content

Insurance is a Verb

May 1, 2009
Chris Garlasco, Owner & Managing Partner - Founders Insurance Group

Chris Garlasco, Owner & Managing Partner - Founders Insurance Group

Imagine for a moment that losses never took place. Imagine that our auto, home, business, health and even our lives never faced any risk. Don’t image too vividly, or I will be imagining that I ‘m out of business!

In the insurance world, there is so much focus on price that we often forget what we are actually buying. Price is not the product! Yes, a competitive price is important. Yes, coverage is even more important. But in the end, we are really buying the process that takes place at the time of the loss. Claim service is what truly separates the bad companies from the good ones, and the good ones from the great ones. That’s what we are really buying, isn’t it?

Our sense of security often tells us that we are somehow different, somehow protected, and somehow immortal. We rationalize that it will happen to the “other guy.” In my line of work, we see the “other guy” everyday. In my somewhat long career, I have never met a client at the time of a large loss that was thinking about the $200 they saved on their policy. I have never met a client at the time of a large loss that was thinking about their company’s mascot. At that moment, the client has one thought in mind, “is there enough to pay for all of this and will it be done quickly and easily? Am I being protected from this difficult financial time in my life and will my insurance company fulfill its promises. Will my advocate, my agent, be in my corner?”

Here in lies the value of the independent insurance agency. Our experience, our partnerships with a myriad of insurance carriers and the fact that we know our clients – we care. That “other guy” is someone we deal with everyday, and one day that “other guy” could be you.

Remember, insurance is a verb. It is an action. It is the quality of the promise that you purchased.

Thanks for taking some time with me out of your valuable day.

Your humble risk manager,

Chris Garlasco

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 3, 2009 5:13 pm

    Hi, nice post. I have been wondering about this issue,so thanks for sharing. I will definitely be coming back to your posts.

Leave a Reply

