Skip to content

A Tale of Two Stories

May 18, 2009
Chris Garlasco, Owner & Managing Partner - Founders Insurance Group

Chris Garlasco, Owner & Managing Partner - Founders Insurance Group

For those that have been following this blog, you know that I landed in the insurance business out of necessity and not out of desire. I questioned that necessity often. I remember two particular insurance appointments that really stand out in my mind. I started out in the life insurance business and that meant meeting people in the evening at their home. Having two children in diapers and just starting out, my manager required me to park my car down the street from my appointments. The car was a piece of junk with bullet holes in it, but that’s a whole other story!

It was raining and I scampered down the street to meet my difficult and demanding client. The water was beading up on my polyester suit like a freshly waxed car. When I stepped onto his newly sealed driveway in my discount store shoes, I slipped and fell flat on my back. All of my papers flew up into the air and slowly floated down on me along with the rain drops. I will always remember seeing the client standing in his doorway bent over with laughter. I really was wondering about the necessity of this job.

A short time later, an elderly client lost her husband of many years. I traveled to her Hartford home with the death benefit check. I had never done this difficult detail before. She opened the door to greet me looking tired and frail. She was from a generation that the husband earned and handled all of the money. I handed her the check and she burst into tears. She explained that even though she had just lost her husband, the bills were still rolling in and the debt collectors were circling like vultures looking for a fresh kill. I was the only one that was bringing her some needed money. She asked that I go through some of her husband’s papers to look for other insurance coverage. I managed to find another small policy with a different insurance company. Before leaving, she gratefully took my hand as if I were an angel of mercy, and thanked me over and over.

What was a necessity, had in that instant, become a desire.

Thank you for taking time out of your day with me.

Your humble risk manager,

Chris Garlasco

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 18, 2009 3:03 pm

    Chris,

    This is a great story! Out of necessity more than 30 years ago, I sold life insurance–for one week. Sales were good; the cold calling killed me. However, we are fortunate that people like you found the desire to do this difficult job.

  2. Mel Brickman permalink
    May 21, 2009 9:04 am

    Hi Chris,

    Thanks for that warm and interesting perspective on our noble profession
    called “sales”.

Leave a Reply

