Skip to content

Marketing for the Insurance World…Part 2

May 27, 2009
Cindy Donaldson, Marketing Director - Founders Insurance Group

Cindy Donaldson, Marketing Director - Founders Insurance Group

As promised, I said I would update everyone on my new job as Marketing Director for the Founders Insurance Group.  I’m finishing up month 3 and it has been one hell of a ride!  Insurance simply isn’t what I thought it would be.  My bosses, Chris Garlasco, Bill Willis, Dennis Dressel and Frank Buonocore (yes 4) all told me I wouldn’t be bored – and they were so right.  I, on the other hand, was a tad worried about the boredom factor – I hadn’t had a desk job since 1985.  I was also worried about the “suit” thing – Brooks Brothers and I are just not the best of friends.

Well…I’m not bored, I’m not at my desk all day and I think I’ve convinced my bosses that I can do a great job sans the BB suit. Boredom is not an issue.  So here is what we’ve accomplished in my short tenure at Founders:

Our blog, Founders Forum, was recently recognized by the IIABA (Independent Insurance Agents & Brokers of America) – and yours truly has been asked to sit on the Agents Council for Technology of the IIABA.  Founders, as I’ve been told, is on the cutting edge of Social Media Marketing for independent insurance agencies.  Good stuff

Buzz about town – People are talking about Founders Insurance, and talking a lot.  As a matter of fact IA Magazine ( An insurance industry bible) asked if we wouldn’t mind being mentioned in their June edition – they are focusing on how Web 2.0 and the insurance industry are mixing. I, hesitated for 2 seconds then said sure!  For us marketing people – buzz is nirvana. It’s that inbound marketing that keeps on working even when we aren’t.  More good stuff.

We are on Twitter, Facebook and have a monthly e-newsletter. Want to get on our mailing list?  Go to our website and sign up – www.foundersgrp.com.  Beyond good stuff.

We’ve created a great display ad campaign featuring my four bosses with the tag line “We Understand Priceless”.  We have one ad running that features a photo of all four owners that has gotten quite a bit of notice – I heard people are calling it the “Founders Mount Rushmore shot”.  Being associated with a national treasure –   Really good news. 

Team Founders – I’ve convinced my bosses  that creating  and encouraging a team atmosphere is a good thing.  They made me nix the pom pom’s and the pep rally but I got to keep the white board –   I’m OK with that. (I have to work up to the pom pom’s)  Well…as you know there is no I in TEAM – so having an excited TEAM is the best good news.  We are all working together to grow Founders Insurance Group to the next level. I’m right there with them.

That’s just the tip of the iceberg – we are hiring producers (when many companies are downsizing), we are creating new cross sell programs, we are looking at 10 years from now and saying “Who do we want to be?, and the list goes on!

You see….boredom is not an issue.  Be on the look out for part 3 of my journey.  I’ll let you know how things are progressing.

And for my sales pitch:  Have a yacht, plane, Picasso or Monet, vintage car or historic home?  Our Platinum Division at Founders is the go to place for coverage. Give Bill Willis a call.  860-482-3506

Cindy Donaldson  – Marketing guru sans the suit.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 28, 2009 9:03 am

    Cindy,

    I love that Founders is open to value-added content marketing. Keep up the great work

Trackbacks

  1. Founders Insurance The Farmer From Merna: Reviews Founders Insurance | Credit Insurance Tips

Leave a Reply

