Skip to content

Insurance – can it ever be sexy?

May 29, 2009
Cindy Donaldson, Marketing Director - Founders Insurance Group

Cindy Donaldson, Marketing Director - Founders Insurance Group

At Founders, we are in growth mode, which means we are looking for producers – for those of you not in the insurance world producers are outside sales people. We’ve put the feelers out – traditional ads, ads on Craig’s list, networking – the list goes on.  I thought for sure, based on the economy, that we would be FLOODED with resumes. Not the case.  We have a great reputation, great benefits and a great bosses who encourage personal growth. I made the ads sound serious – yet exciting.  I’m a marketing person – it’s what I do.  So why can’t I get a pile of resumes on my desk?  Don’t get me wrong – we’ve gotten some, and are interviewing – but I expected to be overwhelmed.

The light bulb went off after chatting with our Commercial Sales Coordinator, Cheryl Venditti.  Insurance just isn’t sexy – it isn’t one of those professions that people go Yes, I want to be an insurance geek when I grow up. We don’t rank up there with lawyers, doctors and other high value white collar professions.

 So, like any challenge that is thrown in my lap – I said to myself   “Self, you gotta make insurance sexy – you gotta make smart college grads see that Insurance is not only sexy but an honorable industry that can make them a lot of money.”

I have to be honest – before I joined the magical kingdom of insurance, I too thought of insurance people as one step below the proverbial used car salesperson. ( no offense – I’m talking about perceptions here.  That industry needs some PR love too).

Here are my two cents on how to fix our image: The industry as a whole needs to bond – we need to stop commodofying  what we sell – It cheapens us as an industry.  It surely is keeping us pretty far away from sexy.  (my boss used the word commodify today and I liked it, although I’m not sure it truly is a word but I’m keeping it).  We also need to educate the public that we are different than the perceived image that is out there.

I believe one person can make a difference.  Since I, a creative non-structured person, was able to be convinced that insurance is not only a great honorable career but it is also fun, exciting and yes sexy-  I’m banking that my blog followers will spread that very idea:  Insurance can be sexy and can be a great place to plant your career roots.  Viral marketing at its best.  Utilizing web 2.0 to it’s fullest.

I expect just a few more resumes on my desk by this time next week.   So that all being said…

Want to work for a great team? Are you ready to put your running shoes on?   Do you like to network?  Are you smart? ( you don’t have to be MENSA but you do have to keep up with my bosses and well me too), Do you want to make serious money in an honorable profession?

  Send your resume to

Founders Insurance Group  1300 Winsted Road, Torrington CT 06790  Attn:  Cindy Donaldson.  In your cover letter, let me know you found us here!

Only serious inquiries please!  I don’t want the pile of resumes just to have them on my desk – I want a great pool of really smart people to choose from!

Cheers!

Cindy Donaldson

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 1, 2009 12:57 pm

    Cindy, I have worked with independent insurance agents from all over the country for almost 34 years now and I can tell you they are some of the finest people I have ever met. They really care about their customers and are there to counsel them so that should they suffer a loss, they will be made whole. To do this properly they have to understand the financial situation of their clients and for the businesses they insure, they have to understand their operations. The agents are also there to be the client’s advocate with the insurance carrier should they suffer a loss or have other issues. If you care about people and want to do something that can contribute to their peace of mind, you ought to consider becoming an agent. Not only can you make a good living, in many cases you can develop an ownership interest over time. Not bad when you are doing something that really helps people.

    Cindy, thanks for putting a focus on the fact that a career as an independent agent is one of the best kept secrets out there and can pay real rewards to those who are willing to work hard and do something meaningful for others.

    Jeff Yates
    Independent Insurance Agents & Brokers of America

    • June 1, 2009 1:42 pm

      Jeff – Thanks for the comments. I concur – this profession is a very well kept secret!
      C

  2. June 2, 2009 4:39 pm

    Sam Friedman of National Underwriter, just wrote an article on this very subject of better PR starting with the agents getting out the message to the consumers starting at the high school level. We need to better educate our clients.

    Tom Greco

    Greco Insurance

Leave a Reply

