Skip to content

A goal is a dream with a deadline.

June 15, 2009
Cindy Donaldson, Marketing Director - Founders Insurance Group

Cindy Donaldson, Marketing Director - Founders Insurance Group

Napoleon Hill – author of the famed book “Think and Grow Rich”  said ” A goal is a dream with a deadline.”  Hill has many words of wisdom but this quote has stuck with me, I have it written on a white board in my office as a daily reminder. 

This past weekend was the Litchfield Hills Road Race – one of the “things” on my to-do list – it has actually been on my “to-do” list for over 20 years.  This year I was going to run the race – but I didn’t  Why?  because I didn’t make it a goal – I didn’t train.  Sure it was (and is) a dream – but not a goal.

Now that it’s Monday after the race – I’m a little angry at myself for not working towards that dream.  I could have finished the race with a modest amount of effort – in other words it was far from impossible.  I simply didn’t do it. No excuses, just some self pity.

So…what does this have to do with my job here at Founders?  A lot.  It’s one thing to dream that your company will be the best, our that your department shines, or that your personal job exceeds your bosses expectations and its another thing to make those dreams happen. The only way to make them happen is to define those dreams as goals and set specific deadlines to achieve them.

I’m sure many of you are saying – ok Cindy, now what?  Well, I’ve made my goal list for Founders, I’m printing it out and posting it on my wall.  I have now passed the dream stage. As I complete the goals they will get crossed off and new one’s will be added. The list will keep me on task and will be a reminder to push a little harder, go outside my comfort zone and just “get it done”!  The rewards will be plentiful. 

As for running – I’ve got to lace up the shoes and just do it.  I’m searching out the next race to commit to and I’m going to run the darn thing – that’s what! Winning the race isn’t important for me – at the prime age of 46 – finishing is a win for me!

What’s on your goal list?

Cindy Donaldson – dreamer turned task master.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

