Skip to content

Doug Grieco – College Grad Chooses Insurance Part II

July 16, 2009
Doug Head shot

Doug Grieco - Commercial Accounts Executive, Founders Insurance Group

Now that I have a month under my belt here at Founders I’ve had the chance to settle in and get into the grind. Has the novelty worn off? Not quite! In fact, I am more confident now about how exciting the insurance industry is than I was when I decided to take a dive off the college diving board. Although the water is deep in the working world and there is a lot to learn, being thoroughly exposed to the industry has brought light to the excitement that comes with working in and protecting your own community.

    Despite the rising costs for owners and the slow economy, there are businesses thriving throughout Connecticut. Being a producer has already given me the luxury of learning what different businesses do and how they impact the area. Since joining the Founders Group I have met professionals that stretch from contractors to artists and everything in between. Already the fruits of networking and being active in the community have manifested. I urge every professional, especially the young ones like myself, to get out in the community, volunteer and meet as many people as you can, you never know who you might meet.

    The training I’ve undergone over the past month has opened my eyes to just how prevalent insurance is in our everyday lives. Whether it’s your car, homeowner’s, life, health or commercial insurance, one way or another our work impacts most of your daily life. Between training courses, seminars, self study books and an exciting three day visit with one of our carriers, General Casualty, I have been exposed in great detail just what goes into writing an insurance policy. It is a lengthy but important process that goes into protecting what matters most to you and those around you.

Although many (or even most) may not think talking to your insurance agent is exciting, I am here to educate you and provide trusted advice on what you can do to protect yourselves. When something goes wrong and you are properly taken care of by your insurer, things may begin to get more interesting for you! In the meantime, hopefully a long time, I will be doing everything I can to share the excitement and continuous innovation of the industry.

 

Thanks for listening!

 

Doug Grieco

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 16, 2009 10:31 am

    Doug,

    Thanks for the great insight from someone new to the insurance industry. Keep on telling us about it. As a very seasoned member of the insurance industry I am interested in hearing the perspective of those just entering. I think this is an exciting time in our industry. It is always evolving and if you are engaged you will find it a very exciting career.

  2. July 16, 2009 12:38 pm

    Hi Doug,

    I am glad that you found our three day session with you exciting! We are always happy to have “new blood” coming into agencies, and taking the opportunity to train the next generation of insurance professionals is something every company should take seriously. I have working in insurance since I graduated UCONN in 1994, and at that point my parents were still paying my auto policy premium! I have learned alot over the years, and found this to be a rewarding career. look forward to working with you for a long time. Allison Zito, Regional Marketing Manager, General Casualty Insurance

  3. July 16, 2009 8:22 pm

    Pat – Thanks for taking the time to read, I will make sure to post more updates on my journey through the insurance world. It is definitely always evolving and I’m exicted to be a part of it.

    Alison – Thanks for the post! I had a great time at GC, everyone was very welcoming and helped me figure out just what goes on in an insurance company. I learned a lot and look forward to working with you as well!

    More Soon – Doug

Leave a Reply

