Skip to content

Back from America’s Dairyland

July 31, 2009
Cindy Donaldson, Marketing Director - Founders Insurance Group

Cindy Donaldson, Marketing Director - Founders Insurance Group

Yesterday I returned to work after a 4 day trip to Madison Wisconsin – the capital of America’s Dairyland. ( At least that’s what their license plates say – although I did’t see one cow, lots of corn fields but not one cow.)  I attended a sales management seminar hosted by one of our carriers General Casualty who is part of QBE.  I’ve been doing sales for quite a long time – so I thought this was going to be a long boring trip to the middle of no where and I wouldn’t learn a darn thing.  Again – my ego slaps me in the face.  Will I ever learn? 

I learned a lot.  The seminars were lead by two Agency principals and sales machines  Jeff Wodicka, CIC of the Casswood Agency (www.casswood.com) with offices in NYC, Saratoga Springs, NY and Palm Springs CA and Joan Sansing, CIC, ARM, AAI with the Tanenbaum Harber Agency of Florida (www.thflorida.com).  Although sales are sales – there is a definite process – insurance is a whole other animal. The knowledge required to be a top performer in our industry is a lot.  Insurance is complicated and with it comes an obligation to protect our client’s  family, company, assets and in essence future.  Beyond knowing how to be salespeople, our team also needs the knowledge of most attorneys and CPAs- not an easy task!

I was one of only two people out of the entire seminar who hadn’t been in the insurance industry for years and years and years – or at least had a relative that was in the industry.  I am a newbie trying to lead newbies down the path of greatness.  Just a little pressure.

Here is my game plan.  I have got to become an insurance sponge, I need to absorb every bit of information about our industry and insure that our new salespeople do as well. I also think it will be valuable to get a few letters after my name – insurance people love them!  CIC, ARM, CPCU the list goes on and on.  Each acronym is for a designation that takes an immense degree of knowledge and requirements to achieve them.  I’ll keep you posted on my sponging activities – which letters will I go for first?  I haven’t decided as of yet.

I’m excited about my job here at Founders – its one challenge after another.  I can’t wait to watch us grow to the next level – and we are in the perfect position to do so. We have a brilliant staff, supportive management and a sales team hungry for accolades.  Team Founders is on the way to the top and I get to be a part of that climb.

See you at the summit!

Cindy Donaldson ( with no letters after my name – yet!)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 31, 2009 10:08 am

    Glad to hear you enjoyed the Home Office…they sure are nice in the Midwest! If there is anything we can do to help you be “an Insurance Sponge” we are willing to help. Allison

  2. Ashley Whitney permalink
    July 31, 2009 10:35 am

    I just got my CIC designation last fall. My dad has been a CIC for 30 years, and is considering letting it drop as he’s getting closer to retirement. I decided to do all 5 courses in one year so that I could take Ruble seminars with him between now and when he retires. I don’t recommend the 5 in 1 year approach – I seriously think I spent a portion of last year with brain overload! 🙂

    Good luck! Can’t wait to see which you start first.

    • July 31, 2009 10:39 am

      Hi Ashley
      I’m thinking of the doing the CIC – I can’t believe you did it in a year! Not sure I can tackle that – my brain would go in overload and I do like having a life! Maybe over a couple years.
      I’ll be calling you for suport I’m sure! Thanks!
      cindy

  3. Donna Bishop permalink
    July 31, 2009 3:46 pm

    Cindy,
    It was a pleasure meeting you and getting to spend time with you this week. You will do fine in this insane industry – you have what it takes-great people skills! I hope you had a chance to check out a bit of Madison before leaving. If you are in the Chicago area, look me up. I would love to see you again. If there is anything I can do to assit you in your sponging efforts, please give me a call.

    Donna

Leave a Reply

