Skip to content

Marketing an Insurance Agency – the Journey Continues!

August 19, 2009
Cindy Donaldson, Marketing Director - Founders Insurance Group

Cindy Donaldson, Marketing Director - Founders Insurance Group

Hi all, as promised I’m updating the social media universe on my successes – and trials – of my new position here at Founders Insurance Group.  I’m having a great time at Founders – Insurance is Fun!  As a matter of fact – some new found friends  in the insurance world  ( Rick Morgan, Peter van Aartrijk and Chris Amrhein) have just done a pod cast about how much fun insurance truly is – give it a listen http://www.insurancejournal.tv/videos/2721/.

As you know from prior blog posts – we have recently hired two new greenhorns – Douglas Grieco and Joseph Lipski.  It’s great seeing two young men come out of college with their whole world in front of them – and they just want to conquer it.  I’ve been asked to help them along in their sales journeys and be one of their mentors (I’m trying not to be their Mom – we’ll see how that goes!)  Doug and Joe know more about insurance they I do now, something that I’ll have to fix. I’m a tad competitive as you might have guessed.  They’ve both made their first sales and they are keeping me on my toes! I’m helping mold the next generation of Founders – I can just imagine what they will accomplish!

brand-campWhat else is happening in my insurance life?  Well I’m off to Brand Camp in Chicago the end of September http://www.aartrijk.com/brandcamp  I’ve been asked to be a part of a think tank panel discussing social media for the insurance industry.  Cool stuff – plus I’ve never been to Chicago – with the exception of running through O’Hare like a crazy person. I’m a huge fan of many minds are better than one – so although Founders has executed a successful social media campaign, I know there are a million other ideas out there.  I can’t wait to pick the brains of like-minded insurance geeks.  Yes, I too am now an insurance geek so I’ve been told.  I welcome the distinction!

It’s been an exciting first 6 months here at Founders  – and the next sixth months I’m sure will top the first. On a personal note:   Next week I pack up my daughter Chelsea to send her off to UConn , she’s a junior who commuted her first two years so I didn’t go through the freshman empty nest drama.  I’m going to miss her – but I’m sure I’ll get the classic phone calls of – “Can you send food, money and oh – can I just bring my laundry home?”  That’s OK – I made those phone calls too. My son Max will be a freshman – but he too will commute, so I get to be a hands on Mom a tad longer.  I’ve entered into a new phase of my life that is going to be a great adventure – thanks for sharing it with me!

P.S. A quick thank you to my bosses–  I was also able to take my first week long paid vacation in over 10 years and it was fabulous!   I camped on the Cape, I biked all over Nantucket until I couldn’t sit anymore,  I kayaked in the salt marshes, saw some whales, and enjoyed the peace and quiet – life was grand.  I only looked at my iPhone a couple times – I had to update Facebook  with my adventures (I’m a hip 47 year old after all!) and check in on the greenhorns to see how they were surviving without me.  They survived just fine – and I guess I do sound like their Mom!

Cheers!!!!

Cindy

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 20, 2009 4:48 pm

    Great article! I wanted to share this news letter with everyone. There is an article titled Leveraging the Power of Social Networking .
    I found it very informative. Let me know what you think!

  2. August 21, 2009 8:49 am

    Hi Ian,
    Thanks for reading – I’ll check out the article!
    cindy

  3. August 21, 2009 12:01 pm

    Cindy:

    Sounds like we’re both having a great time in the insurance world! I was hoping to make it to the Brand Camp, but don’t think I’m going to be able to swing it. Congratulations on being a part of that panel! You’ll be great. Do you know if they’ll be sharing any of the material online afterwards? I hope to be able to catch some of that.

    Please keep up the great blog! We enjoy it!

    Best,
    Krista

    http://www.agents.hometownquotes.com
    http://www.hometownquotesblogs.com/agents

  4. August 21, 2009 3:12 pm

    Krista – I’m having a great time! Not sure about the content being online for Brand Camp – but I’ll ask! Enjoy the weekend.
    CD

Leave a Reply

