Skip to content

Bucket lists, goals, timelines, deadlines – ever feel like you are treading water?

October 28, 2009
cindy-web2

Cindy Donaldson, Marketing Director - Founders Insurance Group

I’m an avid reader of Chris Brogan’s blog (www.chrisbrogan.com), and I also subscribe to his e-newsletter. Why? Because Chris doesn’t just pontificate and give useless information – he always gives me food for thought and makes me think about my life, my job, my career – what I’m doing right and what I’m losing the battle with.

In his latest e-newsletter he talked about goal setting. As many of you know – I love Napoleon Hill’s guru line “A goal is a dream with a deadline” but Chris took it a bit further and perhaps gave me one of those light bulb moments in life.

Chris says “In a word, your only competition (in my opinion – that’s Chris speaking) is you”. Isn’t thatchris-brogan true? When it comes right down to it you and only you have control of the “stuff” that gets in the way. You and only you allow the negativity to slow you down. You and only you procrastinate, avoid and sidestep what you need to do to get where you need to be. Chris is right – the only competition you have is you. It’s the reason I haven’t trained for the ½ marathon I’ve been “meaning” to do, it’s the reason I haven’t lost the remaining weight I want to lose, it’s the reason that so many things are still on my “to-do” list undone. I am my own competition. Success is such a state of mind.

“…it’s great to look outside yourself for inspiration, support, for motivation. But when you look outside yourself for a measure of what you hope to become, that’s when it gets messy,” says Chris.

Remember – only YOU can change you, and only YOU really knows what you want to become and what you need to do to get to your goals. Do you really want to be someone else or do you want to be a better you?

The last piece of Chris advice – and this is a good one –”Understand when to comply and when not to comply is a huge secret to becoming more successful.” In other words – fight the fights that are worth fighting and let go of the things you have no control over. Learn to live in the moment, enjoy the little things in life and don’t let the minutia bog you down.

 Take this advice and use it at work and at home – amazing things will begin to happen.

What are you waiting for?

 Cheers!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 28, 2009 4:26 pm

    Cindy,

    Thank you so much for sharing your inspired moment – and I can say the inspiration has most certainly rubbed off. There is always a sneaking suspicion that the biggest road blocks I come across aren’t the ones that have presented themselves to me, but the ones that I imagine will present themselves. It’s so comforting to know it’s not just me 🙂

    -Kristin

  2. October 29, 2009 10:26 am

    I couldn’t agree more with this blog post! I had the opportunity to attend one of Chris’s presentations this past summer. Talk about an inspiring, no-nonsense individual. I think it serves us all better to not be afraid to think big and to remember, as you mentioned, that the only true competition is ourselves. Thanks Cindy!

    Krista

  3. October 29, 2009 12:06 pm

    Krista and Kristin –
    Thanks for the comments! Let’s get going on our lists ladies!!!
    C

Leave a Reply

