Skip to content

Boy do I hate the “P” word

November 10, 2009

cindy-web2

Cindy Donaldson, Marketing Director - Founders Insurance Group

The “P” word – “Price”

– I’m tired of it. Now don’t get me wrong – I’m one thrifty person. I love a good bargain, tend to buy things only on sale and with a coupon but I won’t sacrifice quality. I will buy from someone local before I shop on the internet – if I can. I will buy from a local mom and pop before a big box – if I can. I love to shop at farmers markets, local craft fairs and farms – but sometimes you have to go big. I get it – but again, I won’t sacrifice quality. iStock_000006139533XSmall

When it comes to insurance – people are VERY focused on price these days. Why? Because the magical world of advertising and media has brainwashed us all into thinking that price is the end all when buying insurance. Joe Lipski, one of our personal lines producers here at Founders took a look at a friend of mine’s policies –Joe found he was paying a decent price BUT he was very under-insured on all fronts. Founders proposed him new coverages – 50% higher on his home, increased his auto and motorcycle coverages as well – and yes we saved him $400 to boot. A perfect sales story.

The message here isn’t the $400 savings – although he appreciated that. We could have saved him a lot more giving him the exact coverages he had – but we wouldn’t have done our jobs. Our job is to counsel individuals on the best coverage for their unique risks. We wanted to make sure he was protected in case of a loss – and now he is, with $400 extra in his pocket.

So next time you hear an ad touting “saving x amount of dollars on your insurance” – remember, it’s not about the “P” word “Price” it’s about the “P” word “Protecting” what you value most – your health, your home, your business and your family. At Founders: We Understand Priceless. It’s what we do.

Do me a favor – take out your insurance policies and bring them to your local independent insurance agent . If you are local – bring them to Founders. You might just be surprised and learn a few things.

Cheers!

Cindy Donaldson, Thrifty but Smart

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 10, 2009 11:39 am

    We tend to believe that an educated client is a happy client.

    Great Post

  2. November 10, 2009 11:41 am

    Cindy, great post. Just yesterday the B2B consultant at the Apple store told me I should go to a certain vendor for a piece of software because their price was cheaper than I could get it from some other sources. First of all this vendor is about an hour drive for me and that is if the traffic is perfect. If you have an issue there is no support, every staff member I have ever encountered is rude or non-responsive and all prices are not always as advertised. When I told the Apple consultant my opinion he actually agreed but said most people were just looking for the cheapest price.

    I am really frustrated when working with agencies that focus on the “P” word instead of the best products for their clients. Good clients want value for their money. The right protection for the best price is value. Good consultation from your insurance professional is good value.

    Write on Cindy and Founders Forum

    • November 10, 2009 11:55 am

      Pat – Thanks! It does drive me crazy – and some people will drive 10 miles out of their way to save 2 cents a gallon on gas or in your case for service. I don’t get it! Our policy at Founders is this: We don’t give quotes we only give proposals, we don’t have customers we have clients. It isn’t about the price of the insurance it’s about taking care of our clients needs and making sure they are protected. We aren’t order takers – and neither should any other independent insurance agent be!
      Thanks for being on my side!

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Boy do I hate the “P” word « The Founders Forum -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

