Skip to content

Gobble, Gobble…Gobble

November 24, 2009

Cindy Donaldson, Marketing Director - Founders Insurance Group

Happy Thanksgiving from all of us at Founders Insurance Group!

Like many of you, I’m gearing up for the big day – cooking, cleaning and wondering why I have a 23 pound turkey for just 6 of us. Over the years my dinner crowd has gotten smaller – my siblings and the majority of my extended family have either moved away or have other family obligations, my parents and grandparents have passed away – yet I still make enough food for an army!

Ok, I’ll admit it – I love cooking Thanksgiving dinner and I’m a little sad when the day is over. I don’t get stressed out over the bird drying out, or the crazy relative that gets a little crazier at the dinner table. First off – my bird is never dry and secondly I enjoy the fact that my family is a little crazy and our dinners are far from stuffy and formal. I’m thankful that my Mom and Grandmothers made me cook more than one meal when I was younger – although I am sure I didn’t appreciate the skills I was learning way back then.

I’m thankful that we are all healthy, have jobs and roofs over our heads. I’m thankful that both my children are both doing well in college – and I’m able to afford those checks they keep asking for. I’m thankful that I’m able to enjoy this semi-empty nest part of my life – I say semi because my children are still “kids” even though according to the government and their pediatrician they are now adults. In my eyes they will be adults when they are paying the rent in their own places and I can convert their bedrooms into “Cindy Rooms” – until then, they are “kids”.

You see, I don’t get stressed out over the holidays – I do tend to get caught up in the craziness of it all and sometimes forget to stop and enjoy the little moments – but I don’t get stressed. This time of year isn’t about how many dust bunnies are hiding under the coffee table, or that you didn’t make Aunt Millie’s favorite creamed spinach recipe for Thanksgiving or that you have less money to spend on Christmas or Hanukkah this year. This time of year is about family, friends and enjoying this moment in time. After all, this holiday season will only come once in your lifetime – never to be repeated. So slow down and enjoy it.

Our tag line at Founders Insurance Group is “We Understand Priceless.” We hope you take this time of year and remember what is priceless in your life…and take the time to appreciate it, treasure it and most importantly enjoy it.

Happy Thanksgiving!

Cindy Donaldson – master turkey cooker, pie baker, cake maker and army meal preparer.

QE2SF2MAF3E7

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 24, 2009 3:19 pm

    Cindy—Happy Thanksgiving to you too! Thanks for gently reminding me that it’s OK if some part of the day doesn’t go as planned (or fails my expectations in some way)…because in the end, I’ll have a lasting memory and a great story to tell……………………………..Donna

  2. November 24, 2009 3:23 pm

    Cindy, we haven’t had a traditional Thanksgiving since my Dad passed away several years ago. Sometimes Gene & I go somewhere alone. Sometimes we join my sister’s brood which is what we are doing this year. While I enjoy cooking, I do enjoy that I have arrived at an age in life where others like to take their turn. I am thankful that this is the case this year. I am also thankful that I do not have to see that my house is clean enough for everyone to be at my house. I am most thankful that we are all healthy and happy. Have a great holiday.

    • November 24, 2009 3:25 pm

      Pat – Happy Thanksgiving to you too! Not everyone is a turkey cooking fool like I am! The cleaning part – I’m not a huge fan of – but isn’t that what children are for? Enjoy the holiday!!!

  3. November 24, 2009 3:28 pm

    What a very nice post and a very nice reminder that stress often comes from the pressure we put on ourselves. Happy Thanksgiving!

    • November 25, 2009 9:08 am

      Melissa – you are so right! I’m all about enjoying the moment!
      Happy Thanksgiving!

  4. Theresa Gerba permalink
    November 24, 2009 3:41 pm

    Cindy

    I am also a semi-empty nester. This is our younger son’s last year at OU. I am thankful that he wants to come home, lie on the couch and watch the Cowboys with us on Thanksgiving Day.
    Thank you for the great reminder.
    Happy Thanksgiving
    Theresa

Leave a comment