Skip to content

It’s time for those famous New Year’s resolutions…

December 30, 2009

Cindy Donaldson, Marketing Director - Founders Insurance Group

01/01/10 is almost upon us . I’m having a hard time believing it’s been a decade since 01/01/01 – but time really does pass us by quickly, doesn’t it? Each year, millions of people make New Year’s resolutions only to forget them by the second week in January. The famous ones are always: Lose weight or hit the gym, save more money or get financially fit and spend more time with the family. I too have made resolutions throughout my 47 years – and for a long time I made them and quickly broke them – but not anymore.

Like any kind of goals – resolutions need to be realistic! For someone who has never exercised a day in their life – hitting the gym for 2 hours a day is going to be terrifying, disouraging and painful. The realistic thing to do is find a buddy – go a couple days a week for 30 minutes to start, get a trainer and learn how to exercise. You won’t be scared, discouraged and only a tad sore. The bottom line is you will have a better chance of sticking with it. I’m speaking from experience. A couple years ago, my New Year’s resolution was to get healthier – I had high blood pressure, a stressful life and was headed for a stroke or heart attack before I reached 50. I found a buddy, joined a gym, hired a trainer….I still go just about every morning to that same gym with the same buddy. Next week , it will be crowded at my morning hot spot – by the end of the month it will be back to our core group of morning gym rats, with maybe a few more health driven converts added to our clan.

So what is my goal this year? I’m working on my finances . OK, so I do choose the standard resolutions – but it’s one I’ve got to tackle. I want to be debt free – or darn close by the time I’m 50, so it’s time to really get down to business. Last year – my goal was to be more organized with my finances – and I did it. I bought Quicken, set up automatic payments for everything and maxed out my 401K. This week – I set up a pretty strict budget, set up higher automatic savings deductions and put together a game plan for aggressively paying off my debt – which really isn’t that much, so I should be on track to complete my goal by 2012!  Then I’m going to be a traveling fool :-).

Baby steps. Five to ten years ago, I would have attempted to do everything at once. I would have been overwhelmed and quit. Patience is NOT my forte!

So what’s it going to be for you 2010? How many of you will stick with it? How many of you will think outside the box for some cool, new and exciting resolutions?  Perhaps your successes will encourage others!

Cheers to the New Year!

Cindy Donaldson – soon to be debt free morning gym rat

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 30, 2009 11:33 am

    Isn’t it amazing what maturity brings us. It is great to learn that a plan is much better than trying to change everything at once. As you know I love to travel and I am working on traveling more for fun than business. That takes some planning too since most of my work is travel based. I know you will reach your goals. Happy New Year and much success.

    • December 30, 2009 12:00 pm

      Pat
      Enjoy the traveling! I’m headed to Europe next summer for a couple weeks – bopping around to several different countries. I can’t wait!
      Happy New Year to you and your family!!!
      C

  2. siegelagency permalink
    December 30, 2009 3:21 pm

    Great advice Cindy!

    I think we all tend to get way too ambitious right before the start of a new year. Now is a great time to reflect and instead of becoming overwhelmed with numerous life changing choices, it’s better to pick one really important “baby step” to take.

    Thank you for always sharing your wonderful insight & have a Happy New Year!

    -Kristin

Leave a Reply

