Skip to content

Say Cheese!

September 22, 2010

Cindy Donaldson, Director of Marketing & Personal Lines Sales - Founders Insurance Group

I’ve always been a fan of cool photos. There is talent in taking them –an art in the composition, framing etc. It has long been on my bucket list to learn how to take a shot that doesn’t show my thumb or that cuts the head off my great, great aunt Tilly.

My better half also decided that he was sick of seeing my horrible pictures and decided that we needed to take photography lessons. (Truth be told, he’s a great photographer. I think he’s only joining me for moral support – for when people look at my homework assignments and say under their breath “I don’t get it????” ).

Last week was my first photography class at the West Hartford Art League with instructor Craig Norton. It was GREAT! I actually learned about apeture, shutter speed and what the heck F Stop is. I now understand why my son Max always looked fuzzy in his soccer action shots and why my close up shots of bumble bees on flowers looked like a big weed fest! Just a few twists of some buttons, adjust some lighting and voila – cool action and clear bees! Here are a couple shots I took for my homework – I think they are cool, but what do I know beyond class one basics!

Why write about pictures when I am suppose to be writing about insurance. Think about the power of a picture. If your house were to burn down – having good detailed pictures of your valuables will be invaluable! After an auto accident – taking pictures of what happened, the scene and the damage will help your case – especially if you were not at fault!

Photography is so much easier than it use to be. Go get yourself a decent SLR digital camera and start clicking away. Oh, and don’t forget to take a class – trust me you won’t regret it.

Cheers!

Cindy “shutterbug” Donaldson

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 22, 2010 1:48 pm

    Very cool! You’ve got some great bokeh in those first two shots! Looks like you’re getting it pretty quickly! What type of camera are you using?

    • September 22, 2010 1:55 pm

      Mike, Thanks!!! I’m really having fun with it. These were playing with aperture.. Using a Nikon D5000. I really got the bug when I was traveling in Europe, and saw all the cool buildings in Germany. Thanks for looking!

Leave a Reply

