Skip to content

New Year’s Resolutions – 2011 Edition

December 28, 2010

Cindy Donaldson, Director of Marketing & Personal Lines Sales - Founders Insurance Group

Tis the end of 2010. 2011 is peeking around the corner just waiting for all of us humans to make a resolution or ten.

I personally love new year’s resolutions. I’ve learned how to make them and keep them – the key is being realistic. Like any goal, one must be specific, have a timeline and know that the goal is indeed achievable.

Here is what I do for my personal resolutions:

Look at the past 12 months – what were my previous goals?  Did I achieve them?  If not, why? For those that I didn’t achieve – regroup and reconsider. For those that I did achieve – give myself a healthy pat on the back.

What do I need (not want, but need) to achieve in the next 12 months.  Make a list and make a game plan with specific time line dates.

What do I want to achieve?  Do I want to go on a vacation, buy a new car etc.  These are goals that I can have after the “need” goals are met, or if financially feasible they can be done concurrently but not at the expense of the “need” goals.

Have a support system.  Tell a trusted person(s) about your resolutions so you can be held accountable. In my world – this part can make me or break me!

Work goals? Really the same process, but align it to things you need and want to accomplish in your career. Be realistic – resolutions should be a stretch, something that puts you outside your comfort zone, but should be achievable within 12 months.

Post a note on what your New Year’s Resolutions for 2011 will be and let the changing begin!

Cheers to 2011!!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

