Skip to content

The power of “You are special and yes… important!”

February 17, 2011

Cindy Donaldson, Director of Marketing & Personal Lines Sales - Founders Insurance Group

I was reading a blog post by the infamous Seth Godin titled “How should you treat your best customers?

You know how it goes, if you are a new customer you get discounts, freebies, treated like a queen ( or for those male readers – king) and just made to feel special and important. Your business means something. If you are a loyal customer often times you get…a bill. Now this isn’t across the board. Smart companies give perks to their loyal clients – special buying clubs, VIP treatment and more. They make them feel special and yes, important.

Take our industry, insurance. I can’t give discounts to loyal customers. There is no such thing as “Hey you’ve been a loyal client for 20 years, let me give you a couple of months free on your homeowners insurance.”  Against the law – can’t happen, no can do.

So what’s an insurance girl to do?

As I am in charge of Marketing here at Founders it is my job to make sure our clients feel special and yes important! Now I know they are important but do they? For those clients that have had claims and we’ve helped them through an awful time in their life – they probably do know we care. For those clients that are loyal, pay their premiums year after year and have never “needed” us – I’m not sure. And that is a big problem – at least I see it that way.

So I’m on a mission. I’m trying to figure out how to make every client know that we appreciate their business and their loyalty – because we truly do. I send them newsletters, email blasts, write about them in my blogs and throughout my social media – but I’m just feeling that isn’t enough.

I challenge you, my very loyal Founders Forum readers to help me. I’m open to ideas! If you are a client even better – give me a call and let me know how we can make you feel special and yes important.

Here’s to Seth Godin and all our clients -pssst  you are special and pretty darn important!

Cheers!

Cindy Donaldson

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 17, 2011 11:13 am

    Possibly hold a fan appreciation event – perhaps something like a Wine Tasting or Pancake Breakfast. Or how about just calling them at random – just to say “thanks”.

  2. February 17, 2011 11:16 am

    Rick – great ideas! Gotta find someone to flip those pancakes now!

  3. February 17, 2011 2:11 pm

    Cindy, Love Seth Godin. Interviewed him last year, and will be interviewing him again next week on his new book out in March. Lots of wisdom, insight.

    Last year I interviewed one of our clients for our newsletter. After the article came out, he sent me a thank you card and a Starbucks card for $20.00. I thought the gesture was great! Love coffee, used it every day until it ran out.

    I like Rick’s idea too.. you can hold events at the agency for your clients. I like the Wine Tasting idea… different cheeses, wines (but there is that drinking and driving…). Perhaps a Greet & Meet in the community with business owners that you insure to get together, there can be synergies there… sort of like your own mini Chamber. Or, perhaps you can get the local restaurants to showcase their signature dishes at your agency to your top clients… it’s a great way to promote their menus and say thanks to your clients.

    • February 17, 2011 3:25 pm

      Annie,
      Thanks for the ideas! We recently sponsored an event at our local theatre – had a cocktail reception prior and everyone went to the show. Great fun – I’m definitely looking to do more of these that will allow me to invite more clients. Thanks again for your input!
      Cindy

  4. February 21, 2011 9:55 pm

    I think you should send singing telegrams to your clients! No one would ever suspect it! Sounds goofy, but think about it!

Leave a Reply

