Skip to content

I’ve got a pretty cool life…

March 23, 2011

Cindy Donaldson, Director of Marketing & Personal Lines Sales - Founders Insurance Group

I’ve often been called the eternal optimist – I’m not sure that is completely true, but I have learned to roll with the punches life tosses my way. You’ve heard them all: “This too shall pass”, “You only live once”, “Suck it up and move on”…yada yada yada. I typically go back to what my Dad would always say, “Kid, if you think you are having a bad day – there is always someone out there who is having a worse one.” That usually shut me up pretty quick.

Sure, everyone has a bad day. Work bogs them down, kids drive them crazy, the house is a mess, the dog chewed your favorite shoes – AGAIN. In the end – those are little events that put a kink in your day but it isn’t the end of the world. If you look back, tomorrow came and God willing it will come again.

So what prompted this introspective look at my life and others? Sometimes I forget how cool my life really is. I have a pretty neat job, great friends and family, a beyond the best better half and let’s be honest – I have a lot of fun with my life. Yes, I get cranky – but doesn’t everyone? The key is I don’t stay cranky – I suck it up and move on or think about the person that is having a worse day than I am. I also don’t sit around my house and watch endless hours of TV and brood.

In the past month, I’ve been teaching social media classes at the Register Citizen News Room Café here in

My Twitter Class at the Register Citizen News Room Cafe!

Torrington CT. Talk about fun – I get to be in a room with 20+ people I’ve never met and show them the wonders of Facebook, Twitter and the rest of the social media world. I’m helping other people out and having a blast at the same time. I also get to plug Founders Insurance Group which is an added plus for the bosses here at F.I.G. I’m in my glory when I get to talk for a couple of hours about something I enjoy and especially when people don’t fall asleep! I’m making a difference.

Maybe that’s what it’s all about – making a difference in the world. Maybe you need to have meaning in order to look beyond the bad and find the silver lining.

We do that every day here at Founders – we make a difference.

So, turn that frown upside down. Put a smile on your face and think how you are going to make a difference in the world. You just might find you like it!

Cheers!

CD

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Donna Bak permalink
    March 23, 2011 4:30 pm

    I know that when I’m around Cindy, I always leave feeling better about things. “Life is Good” is Cindy’s mantra.

    Can I come to your next Social Media 101 class? I promise to behave myself 🙂

    • March 24, 2011 10:17 am

      Donna – I would love to have you at one of my classes! And thanks for the comments 🙂

Leave a Reply

