Skip to content

Being a co-ed again – at least for a few days.

June 6, 2011

Cindy Donaldson, Director of Marketing & Personal Lines Sales - Founders Insurance Group

I recently returned from a few days at The Wharton School of Business at the University of Pennsylvania in Philly for an Executive Education retreat sponsored by Chubb Insurance. Beyond the great classes I took on marketing, social media, organizational networks and more, what left a grand impression upon me was the networking with my fellow insurance geeks.

People from all over the U.S. and Canada filed into classrooms and let their brains be sponges for a few days. I’m not going to lie – I would love to be able to go back to college full-time. When you are in your late teens and early twenties you have so many distractions. Closer to 50? You tend to be a bit more focused on the job at hand.

I find people fascinating. The thing about insurance geeks – we are all

Professor Anthony Palombit

very different. You would think we would be of the same mold – NOT! One of the classes at Wharton was taught by Professor Anthony Palombit titled “Understanding You and Your Clients’ Decision Making Styles” focused on the Hermann Brain Dominance Instrument or HBDI personality test.

No surprise – I’m heavily in the Experimental quadrant – or in the HBDI world: I’m a Yellow. I assumed that most of the people in the class would be very analytical or in the Blue Rational or Green Practical quadrants – but you know what? We were pretty equally divided amongst the four groups. The last quadrant is Red for Relational.

Every company needs a mix, but not every company does or can. The bottom line is, you need to concentrate on your strengths but more importantly identify your weaknesses and compensate for them. Tools such as HBDI are incredibly useful when learning to understand co-workers, employees and of course clients. Identifying what makes them “tick” and what “turns them off” is key to any type of solid relationship.

I can’t wait to go back to Wharton! I met some great people, thoroughly enjoyed the classes and brought home a ton of information that will help me with my job here at Founders and in my career.

Thanks Chubb!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 6, 2011 3:49 pm

    How does the Hermann Brain Dominance Instrument or HBDI test identify someone’s style? Is there a questionnaire?

Leave a Reply

