Skip to content

Meeting Up with the Police….And that’s a Good Thing!

November 28, 2011

Chris Garlasco, Owner & Managing Partner - Founders Insurance Group

If you are like me, I often think of the police as the guys I need to watch out for when I accidently have the “pedal to the metal.” When it comes to the men and women of the fire department verses the police department, to the public, it’s often “bad cop verses good cop,” pun intended. Our fondness for firemen often doesn’t seem to carry over to the police. The three hundred and forty three brave men and women of the New York City Fire Department are often mentioned and remembered when we think of that horrible day in 2001. I don’t know about you, but I often think we tend to overlook the sixty or more police officers that lost their lives on that terrible day too.

I guess my sometimes conflicted feelings about the police are a result of the “authority figure” that the police department represents. I think it’s my inner rebel that whispers in my ear every so often. It has been more than twenty years since my last speeding ticket and even having a brother-in-law that’s a state trooper in Massachusetts hasn’t made me feel any better when a police car is lurking in my rear view mirror. But, fear not, I am working on my issues!

This year, in the midst of a very bad economy, the Connecticut State Police, along with the Torrington Police and Torrington Fire Department will be continuing their annual ritual of standing in front of local stores collecting toys for needy children. Each year, the men and women of the thin blue line spend their day in the late fall chilly air chatting with the community and helping to provide for children that they often see under the worst of circumstances. It is a very noble thing.

The economy is making the Christmas season a little tougher on most families, and often times the children are hit the hardest. It’s in times like these, when it’s tough for all of us, to make the sacrifice to make a child’s life a little better that it is so important. My entry today is to ask you to join with me and my family in helping out the men and women whose job it is to help others. If you happen to be shopping locally and see these fine folks standing out in the cold, offer them a kind word of thanks, and if you can, a toy for a needy child.

Have a great day!

Chris Garlasco

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

