Skip to content

The Time of My Life

May 7, 2012

Chris Garlasco, Owner & Managing Partner – Founders Insurance Group

When my time on earth clicked to my fortieth year, many of my friends and family took the opportunity to tease me a bit about getting older. They reminded me that I was no longer “young” and warned me of an upcoming mid life crises. It was a crisis that didn’t come to fruition. They told me it was time to take stock of my life. I didn’t.

Now, nearly a decade later, some of those friendly warnings and advice are suddenly before me again. It’s not because I have a birthday coming soon because I don’t have one on the near horizon. The fact is that I am not sure why those thoughts have entered my mind over the past several months.

The Founders Forum is a place that we spend a lot of time talking about loss or the potential for loss. We spend paragraph after paragraph talking about how to protect the things that you value the most. I have spoken out against Obamacare, not because I am protecting my financial interests, but because my knowledge of insurance makes me fearful of it for my own health. I often talk about the dangers and pitfalls of other insurance companies that may not be looking out for your best interest. I talk about bad weather and its effect on the home insurance market. I spend a tremendous amount of time talking about the right coverage and the best claim service and why that is really what insurance is all about.

The fact is that in almost all of these cases, I am talking about how to protect material items. When I’m not talking about material items I am speaking of how to protect your assets from liability. Of course I still want you to have the proper protection and if that means choosing Founders, that’s even better. But, a decade has gone by and today I want to remind you of something more.

Insurance can’t replace the ones that we love. Insurance cannot replace those that love us back. It can’t return the memories that are dear to our hearts. Insurance cannot replace time. So I guess those words of wisdom imparted to me ten years ago have taken on a new meaning. It wasn’t that I didn’t know it then, but it means so much more now. Our lives are so busy and getting busier so it’s easy to let this wisdom slip to the back of our mind. You can insure the financial value of a life, but not the value of life itself.

Today, I am not thinking about the time that has gone by, but rather what will I do with the time that remains? There is a wonderful book that you may have read by Garth Stein called, “The Art of Racing in the Rain.” I have been thinking a lot lately about a quote from that moving story. “We Manifest What Lay Before Us.” I will protect my assets and accept the privilege of protecting yours, but today, on this day, I am focused on what I will manifest, are you?

Have a great day!

Chris Garlasco

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

