Skip to content

Keep your eye on the prize people – EYE ON THE PRIZE!

June 8, 2012

Cindy Donaldson, Director of Marketing & Personal Lines Sales – Founders Insurance Group

I have weekly sales meetings with my team – every Thursday morning at 9:30 sharp. I try to make them positive, upbeat and gung-ho let’s go sell something kind of meetings – but every once in a while I need to get back to basics of what it means to be a top dog sales guru and beat my team over the head.

Yep, you guessed it – this past Thursday was one of those days. Don’t get me wrong – I have a super great team filled with super-duper great salespeople all have the amazing potential to be top dogs. But….if you have been in sales long enough you know that at some point you are going to get beat down by a slump, the paperwork, and the proverbial bumps in the road seem to look like Mt. Everest on steroids. When that happens to one or more it can become a cancer in a team. I sensed it happening, so I needed to address it.

Here is the recap of my meeting – the beating over the head part anyway:

The secret to success is very simple: You need to want it. You need to want it badly enough that you can taste it; you need to picture yourself as that successful person. When you hit that mental nirvana the bumps in the road will not matter and Mt Everest is a mountain you conquer not one you weep in front of.

I reminded my team to keep their eyes on the prize – and accept that insurance is filled with paperwork, that you won’t win every client over, that you will have bad days. None of that matters if you really – and I mean really – want to be the top dog. Keep your eye on the prize. Many people will tell you that sales people fail because of lack of activity, lack of time management, lack of a full hopper – but what really happens is when sales people fail they have lost their focus. When you lose focus, you no longer have your eye on the prize. You don’t see yourself as a success anymore, and you focus on all the painful steps vs. the win at the end of the journey.

I closed my meeting with a go out and sell something gung ho upbeat positive yea rah kind of note. What I really hope is that my team left there and headed to the bookstore to get their copy of Napoleon Hill’s Think & Grow Rich.

“A goal is a dream with a deadline” the author so famously penned. Write it down, picture yourself as the winner – have a game plan and you will win. Failure is not an option.

Psst…I bet June is going to be a stellar month at Founders. I’ll keep you posted!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

