Skip to content

“When Love Collides with Heartache, it’s only the Blues”

July 2, 2012

Chris Garlasco, Owner & Managing Partner – Founders Insurance Group

The time has come again for me to take a much needed break from life and head out on the open road for a spell. Some folks find that break in the form of a good book or a blanket on a sandy beach. For me, it has always been the open road.

My very patient wife, Sora, also a long distance rider, has been kind enough to put up with my crazy vacation ideas for some time. The time has come that I acquiesce to a crazy idea of hers for a change. Sora wants to go dig in the mud looking for Diamonds at a place called the Crater of Diamonds State Park, in Arkansas. http://www.craterofdiamondsstatepark.com

She is of the understanding that each year several lucky folks find a diamond of some value. I must admit that I have been putting off this idea for several years. The first reason is that it is in Arkansas, (no offence intended to those that may hail from that fine state). It is hot in Arkansas in the summer. It is hot riding to Arkansas in the summer. Looking for a diamond in the dirt pile, after riding to Arkansas under the hot sun, and sitting in the dirt under the hot sun simply isn’t appealing to me. I even took the drastic step of offering to take Sora to the mall to buy a diamond in lieu of taking this trip. She was having none of it. So, I, being the obedient husband that I am, will sit in the hot sun and dig in the dirt for my bride in Arkansas while all of the excess water weight drains from my pores. Everything has a bright side!

Of course, knowing that I had committed to this, I desperately searched for angles that might add a little bit of a silver lining to this cloud over Arkansas. The first, being an obvious one to me, is that we will be riding, and traveling anywhere on a motorcycle always works for me. Secondly, there will be unhealthy food involved. Again, I offer no ill will to the fine people of the “White Tail Deer State,” (I bet you thought it was the Razorback State!), but Arkansas is generally not on very many top ten lists when it comes to the culinary arts. But when it comes to “roadfood” it may be one of the best. I am talking about down home cooking! The little places along the roadside that you may not want to tell your cardiologist or Mayor Bloomberg about, but will put a smile on your face from ear to ear.

As I searched the map I soon realized that I just might be in luck. I love rock and roll and especially rock and roll that has its feet firmly planted in the blues. There is no place on earth that has contributed more to the blues than the Mississippi Delta. I’m talking about the Great River Road, the home turf of the late Robert Johnson! The man that went to “The Crossroads” and sold is soul to the devil to play some of the best blues known to mankind. The forefather of men like Muddy Waters and B.B. King, and even Eric Clapton across the pond, Robert Johnson was “the man!” I could see that Sora’s eyes were wide now; I knew I had her hooked at the mention homemade banana pudding, but I brought out the big guns just the same. I explained to Sora that we could start just outside of New Orleans and follow the mighty Mississippi from juke joint to juke joint, from homemade pies to homemade tamales, we could eat our way through the deep south. We would go to Memphis, home to Sun Records, Beale Street and Graceland, and the cu de gra…..barbecue spaghetti!

So….. I am going to Arkansas to dig in the dirt this summer and I am so happy, I might even wash my hands before dinner!

Have a great day!

Chris Garlasco

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 6, 2012 5:04 pm

    The things we do for love! Enjoy the dig, and the chow, and the blues.

Leave a Reply

