Skip to content

Happy End of Summer

August 29, 2012

Cindy Donaldson, Director of Marketing & Sales – Founders Insurance Group

Ever since I was a young child Labor Day marked the end of summer. Growing up in Goshen Connecticut, Labor Day weekend is also known as “HI HO, Come to the Goshen Fair” weekend. Kids didn’t go back to school until the Wednesday after Labor Day. We always thought it was because everyone went to the Goshen Fair, and you needed at least a day to recoup before you headed back to the classroom.

Now that I’m all grown up, I’ve realized that (gasp!) not everyone celebrates Labor Day like my family! If you grew up in little ‘ole Goshen – the Fair is a religious experience. Several Goshenites have reminisced about their childhood on the Goshen Fair’s Facebook page. You’ll find posts on how they started thinking about the Fair at Christmas and how they saved money all summer just to spend it all on rides and junk food, how they showed their cows, their pigs, their sheep and or their bunnies! I personally was all about the baking – if I didn’t win a blue ribbon I got a tad cranky. My kids told me if I decided to bake and enter in this year’s fair they were moving out – yea, I do get a bit crazy when it comes to the perfect cake or cookie.

Alas I won’t be baking this year, my kids are relieved. As per tradition though, I will be judging the jam, jellies, and preserved veggies along with my Aunt Linda and daughter Chelsea. It’s neat to see that so many people still take the time to preserve what they grow. Since I don’t have room for a garden, I belong to a local CSA at Gresczyk Farms in New Hartford. Each week I pick up a box of fabulous locally grown produce and a dozen farm fresh eggs. I’ve made squash relish, zucchini cakes, eggplant parm, fresh salsas, dill pickles to name a few. I’ve been canning, freezing and baking all summer long – and I’ve loved every minute of it. My favorite is a tomato sandwich on pumpernickel bread with a little mayo and some kosher salt. Tip: Never put your tomatoes in the fridge – keep them on the counter or eat them right off the vines then you get to experience the true joy of the tomato!

Mural celebrating the 100th Anniversary of the World Famous Goshen Fair

I didn’t realize how lucky I was growing up – I guess one never does. Growing up in a small town, eating organic food that was grown in the back yard or grazed in your fields is not a bad way to start off in life. Funny, back then I kind of hated growing up in the “country”, well except for Hi Ho Come to the Goshen Fair Weekend of course. I would love to have that kind of life now when I can appreciate it. One can dream!

Stop by and see me on Saturday, I’ll have my little blue committee badge on. It’s a badge of honor and it has its perks : it gets me first dibs at the bathrooms and a free Nodine’s Grinder for lunch. I can’t wait to be a kid again! Maybe I’ll take a twirl or two on the Ferris Wheel for the heck of it.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 29, 2012 3:54 pm

    I used to love going to town fairs this time of year. Thanks for sharing and allowing me to reminisce. Enjoy your holiday weekend at the fair.

Leave a Reply

