Skip to content

Italia!

September 18, 2012

Cindy Donaldson, Director of Marketing & Sales – Founders Insurance Group

This Friday I’m heading out for a 3 week jaunt across Italy – I know you’re jealous. I can’t blame you! I am beyond excited. Italy has been on the top of my bucket list since I was a kid and I’m not even Italian. Since this was the year I entered the second phase of my life (shhhhh I turned 50!) it was time to go!

We will hit the classics – Rome, Florence & Venice to see the sights and be a tourist but we are living like the locals by renting apartments vs. sitting in an Americanized hotel. What I’m most looking forward to are the 4 nights we will be spending in the Cinque Terra (the Italian Riviera), our car excursion through Tuscany and the Foodie trio of Bologna, Modena and Parma. Yes, I shall be eating and drinking my way through the hills.

I’m always in awe when I can walk the same streets as people did generations ago. In the US we are talking 300+ years. In Rome you are talking 2000-3000 years – how amazing is that! To stand in the same spot as Caesar, or to visit the famed home of Juliet in Verona, walk through vineyards that have been producing wine for centuries, visit the fishing villages that haven’t changed in 500 years – that is history!

And then there is the food. Ah yes, the food. I want some Italian Grandmother to adopt me and feed me. Don’t laugh, as I’m completely serious. I want real Bolognese sauce from Bologna, authentic balsamic vinegar from Modena – oh and don’t forget the Parma ham, or the fish from the seas and the PASTA! I shouldn’t be writing this before lunch because now I’m starving! What will my Weight Watchers team members say!

Italy will be an adventure that I won’t soon forget. I’ve never heard anyone say they would never go back. Most people tell me they could live there – forever. The culture, the people, the land and of course the food – what’s not to love! Oh and did I tell you I’m going with only a carry-on? Yes we are bringing just backpacks. That doesn’t mean I won’t be shopping. A woman has to buy at least one pair of leather shoes in Florence – after all it is Italy and they do have Fed Ex!

I promise to post pictures upon my return. In my absence my co-workers will hold down the fort and for that I’m thankful. I am also VERY thankful to my bosses for letting me take an extended trip, I promise to come back.  And yes, I did purchase Travel Insurance!

Ciao!

Cindy

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 18, 2012 1:11 pm

    Cinque Terra is amazing, good choice! 🙂

  2. September 18, 2012 1:35 pm

    We may be crossing paths and not even know it! I’ll be in Italy for 2 weeks in October for my Honeymoon and spending a good amount of time at the Cinque Terra area. Have fun!

  3. September 19, 2012 1:37 pm

    Advice — Gelato every day!

Leave a Reply

