Skip to content

#26Acts

December 26, 2012
Cindy Donaldson, Director of Marketing &  Sales - Founders Insurance Group

Cindy Donaldson, Director of Marketing & Sales – Founders Insurance Group

For those of us living in Connecticut, the holidays were dampened. Most of us weren’t in celebratory moods – it just didn’t seem right. I am a firm believer that there is a silver lining in just about anything, and this holiday season was no exception thanks to an idea that went viral on social medial.

NBC News correspondent Ann Curry suggested: “Imagine if we all committed 20 acts of kindness to honor the lost children of Newtown..(or 26 acts, including the heroic teachers.) I’m in. A growing number on Twitter are in. #20Acts #26Acts. What do you think FB friends? If yes, share!” Curry wrote on Facebook. The idea went viral and I knew this is what I needed to put me into the Christmas spirit and honor those lost in Sandy Hook.

My #26Acts cards

Because I started late in the game and I wanted my #26Acts to be completed by Christmas I had to do something “en-mass”! I filled 26 Christmas cards each with a $10 bill and a note explaining my random act of kindness, I then asked the recipient to consider paying it forward.

The Saturday before Christmas came – (along with a horrible cold that by the way is still lingering!) – Dave and I got in our car and headed to the Target shopping center.  I ran around the parking lot and put the envelopes under random windshield wipers.  Now mind you, it’s the weekend before Christmas and there were a million and one people everywhere!  I didn’t want to get caught in the act and get yelled at by a car owner for putting garbage on their car! 

Alas – I didn’t get caught. 

122612_2038_GivingbackC2.jpg

In the act!

I did want to see at least one person open their envelope so we waited, and waited and waited – finally we saw a woman headed to one of my random act cars. She got in her car and then noticed the blue envelope under her wiper, a tad annoyed she got out and retrieved it. After turning it over a few times, staring at the note on the front she opened the envelope. Once she read the note and it registered what had just happened she got a huge smile on her face. She then picked up her phone and called someone, I can only assume to tell the story. It made my day! We were about to leave when an elderly couple came out of the store and headed to their truck that was adorned with one of my random act envelopes. They too did not notice the envelope and got into their car. The woman who had just received the Random Act card jumped out of her car with her smile still there and tapped on the couple’s windshield pointing to the envelope. She grabbed the envelope, handed it to the couple, turned around with an even bigger smile, got in her car and left. Perhaps this was her way of beginning the pay it forward process!

We too thought it was time to leave. Mission accomplished and it definitely brought some Christmas cheer into my soul.  

Did you hop on Ann Curry’s bandwagon?  If so, please share your #26Act story in the comments section below!  You can also check out the Facebook Page www.facebook.com/26acts where thousands of people from all over have posted their stories.  You won’t be disappointed and you will be inspired.

May 2013 be joyous to all and may the families in Sandy Hook find some peace.

Cindy Donaldson


No comments yet

Leave a Reply

