Skip to content

Things We Take for Granted

August 29, 2014
Chris Garlasco, Owner & Managing Partner - Founders Insurance Group

Chris Garlasco, Owner & Managing Partner – Founders Insurance Group

After many years of hard work, my wife and I were able to purchase a little place down south in hopes of retiring there someday. Even though it’s in the south, we try to use it year round whenever possible. So after some difficult weather and an airline without a pilot available to pilot our plane, which by the way, I would prefer rather than flying without one, we finally arrived way past dinner time as we had planned. Actually, we arrived past our bedtime too. Anyone that travels knows that it can be hectic and tiring and both my wife and I were ready to settle into bed as soon as possible.

Now, I don’t have to tell you that it’s hot in the south during the summertime. And it’s not that cool, “dry” heat we hear folks in Arizona talk so fondly about. So after a quick stop at midnight for staples like bread and milk, our southern home was truly beckoning us.  With great anticipation, my wife unlocked the front door and we were greeted by a force of steaming hot air that can only come from a sealed house in the south in the summertime. Did we forget to turn on the air conditioning? I didn’t think so. So after turning on some lights and messing around with our thermostat, no cool air was to be found. Being the handy guy I am, I signed onto the internet looking for a troubleshootingDog on block of ice fix that my wife might be able to do. I am very handy at the internet, but not so handy with actual tools. My patient wife has excepted this fact about me many years ago. Anyway, after several trips to the outside unit, I professionally concluded that we had a serious problem! By now it was nearly 2am. I went back into the house and it was unbearable. The thermostat in our living room read 94 degrees!

I soon stepped outside, and walked our street. I noticed, not in a peeping Tom sort of way mind you, that all of my neighbors were tucked quietly into their beds and their air conditioning units were all making a wonderful, melodic hum in the night. They hadn’t a care in the world while tucked into their cozy little beds. Yet just a few feet away, I was living in an inferno. I texted one of my retired friends that I knew would be awake back in New England. His words of wisdom went something like this; “Well Chris, if it were 10 degrees outside, you could keep adding blankets and overcoats until you got reasonably warm, but with heat like that, there isn’t anything you can do past naked.” Yeah, he was filled with wisdom!

I finally returned to the house to make a few calls to repair people and face my destiny of a miserable night’s sleep. Now finding someone to fix an air conditioning unit in the middle of a southern summer is like trying to find a furnace man in the dead of winter during a harsh New England cold snap. Finally I was able to find one that might be willing to do the work right away, but I had to be prepared to offer up a pound of Vanilla pipe tobacco on top of the normal bill. His promise was to have it up and running within the day. He kept his promise and now I’m left looking for a pound of pipe tobacco with my nearly empty wallet. But as I said, I’m handy with the internet and with it now 69 degrees in the house, the task is an easy one.

 The moral of this little story is that the little things we take for granted are often big things when they are suddenly gone. The second moral is that I had the foresight to take out a warranty on the house when I bought it, making the several thousand dollar repair not feel quite so badly. Sometimes it pays to pay the little extra for piece of mind!

 

Have a great day!

 

Chris Garlasco

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

